Professional Development


AAISA continues to offer Canada’s only certification program for qualified settlement practitioners.

The Settlement Practitioner certification is based on a balanced assessment of an applicant’s knowledge, skills and training. Practitioners are certified as Level 2 or Level 3, recognizing respective competency levels and experience in the field.

Certification Process

Click on the following links to view the certification processes for Level 2 and Level 3.

Guidelines for Certification

Settlement Practitioners who meet the specified requirements are eligible for Level 2 or Level 3. Please read our Guidelines for Certification. Additionally, we recommend applicants review our Portfolio Checklist to guide their application process.


Download the AAISA Certification Application fill it out, and submit it before the deadline. All applications must be received on or before 5:00 PM MST on the date listed.

  • September 2nd, 2019

Please note that going forward, there will only be two (2) application submission cycles in each fiscal year.

Please note: AAISA recognizes training from several institutions for the purpose of Settlement Practitioner certification. Candidates with prior training fall into the Prior Learning Assessment & Recognition (PLAR) category. Please download the Additional AAISA Training document to learn more. Contact us with any suggestions or additions to the training list.

Contact Us

You can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search